Essential Nursing Skills by 
Want accessible, newly published articles about your topics of interest sent straight to your inbox? Email us to sign up! library@UHBW.nhs.uk.
We have subscriptions to a wide array of current nursing journals in order for your care to be informed by the best quality evidence based practice, as well as many nursing books and ebooks. Some are listed below. If there is a specific journal or book you would like access to but cannot see listed, please let us know via libchat to the left of the page, or via email at Library@uhbw.nhs.uk and we can look into acquiring it for you.
You can access all the below resources using your Open Athens login and accessing the resource indicated in the tab title, unless otherwise specified. You can login and access the resource hub here. If you need to register for Open Athens, or are having trouble logging in, please check our "Open Athens" page on the library website.
On this page you can find details of:
Browzine
Browse our current journal collection through your web browser with Browzine. Click here to access.
Here are some of the nursing specialities available through Browzine:
We have subscriptions to a variety of nursing journals in order for your care to be informed by the best quality evidence based practice. If there is a specific journal or book you would like access to but cannot find, please let us know via email at Library@uhbw.nhs.uk and we can look into acquiring it for you.
You can find Sage Journals via your Open Athens resources hub, or by logging in here.
|
ADCES in Practice |
| American Journal of Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias |
| American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine® |
| American Journal of Lifestyle Medicine |
| American Journal of Men's Health |
| Biological Research For Nursing |
| Canadian Journal of Nursing Research |
| Chronic Illness |
| Clinical Child Psychology and Psychiatry |
| Clinical Nursing Research |
| Dementia |
| DIGITAL HEALTH |
| European Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing |
| Evaluation & the Health Professions |
| Global Pediatric Health |
| Global Qualitative Nursing Research |
| Hispanic Health Care International |
| Home Health Care Management & Practice |
| InnovAiT |
| INQUIRY: The Journal of Health Care Organization, Provision, and Financing |
| International Journal of Qualitative Methods |
| Journal of Asthma & Allergy Educators |
| Journal of Child Health Care |
| Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine |
| Journal of Family Nursing |
| Journal of Holistic Nursing |
| Journal of Human Lactation |
| Journal of Infection Prevention |
| Journal of Intellectual Disabilities |
| Journal of International Medical Research |
| Journal of Pediatric Oncology Nursing |
| Journal of Perioperative Practice |
| Journal of Research in Nursing |
| The Journal of School Nursing |
| Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association |
| Journal of Transcultural Nursing |
| NASN School Nurse |
| Nordic Journal of Nursing Research |
| Nursing Ethics |
| Nursing Science Quarterly |
| Palliative Care and Social Practice |
|
Peritoneal Dialysis International |
| Policy, Politics, & Nursing Practice |
| Proceedings of Singapore Healthcare |
| Progress in Transplantation |
| Qualitative Health Research |
| SAGE Open Medical Case Reports |
| SAGE Open Medicine |
| Scars, Burns & Healing |
| The Science of Diabetes Self-Management and Care |
| Statistical Methods in Medical Research |
| Therapeutic Advances in Infectious Disease |
| Translational Research in Oral Oncology |
| Western Journal of Nursing Research |
| Workplace Health & Safety |
EBSCO Host provides access to a variety of medical databases, each of which provide access to thousands of journal articles. These databases include:
CINAHL
CINAHL is "The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature". It is one of the most popular healthcare databases, including journals from 50 different nursing specialties, allied health professions, medicine and more.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
MEDLINE Complete
MEDLINE Complete is a full-text database of biomedical and health journals. It is a companion to MEDLINE, providing full text for thousands of medical journals for doctors, nurses, and other health professionals.
You can access EBSCO Host Databases via your Open Athens resource hub, or by logging in here.
For Senior Nurses:
All senior nurses at UHBW have access to specialist publications via the library. Please email the library manager at Thomas.Osborne@uhbw.nhs.uk for details on how to access:
We have access to almost 6000 nursing books and journal articles via our library catalogue.
You can access them via your SWIMS account: See below for some examples of what you can find. For support with accessing books and ebooks, please contact us at library@uhbw.nhs.uk.
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures, Professional Edition by 
Nursing research : generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice by 
Communication in nursing and healthcare : a guide for compassionate practice by We have access to over 200 nursing books via Oxford University press. You can access them here by using your Open Athens login.
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures (RMM) and the Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry are now freely available to all NHS staff in England as e-books, as well as the traditional hard copy manuals from their NHS libraries.
The RMM has been the definitive guide to clinical nursing skills for over three decades. Written by nurses, for nurses, it sets the gold standard for effective, patient-focussed nursing care.
The Maudsley Guidelines is a world-renowned reference on the safe use of medications for patients presenting with mental health problems.
