We now subscribe to MIDIRS Midwifery Digest!
You can access their resources, via our Library and Knowledge Hub
Research Methods in Nursing and Midwifery: Pathways to Evidence-Based by The library produces a quarterly evidence update for midwifery which you can find here.
Please contact the library at library.uhbw.nhs.uk for more details on evidence updates and how you can stay in the loop.
Want accessible, newly published articles about your topics of interest sent straight to your inbox? Email us to sign up! library@UHBW.nhs.uk.
On this page you can find details of:
You can access all our resources using your Open Athens login. You can login to Open Athens here. If you need to register for Open Athens, or are having trouble logging in, please contact us at library@uhbw.nhs.uk.
Browzine
Browse our current journal collection through your web browser with Browzine. Click here to access.
Here are some of the midwifery journals available through Browzine:
Central European Journal of Nursing and Midwifery
International Journal of Childbirth
Indonesian Journal of Nursing and Midwifery
Journal of Caring Sciences
Nursing Open
Nursing Plus Open
BMC Pregnancy and Childbirth
International Breastfeeding Journal
International Journal of Childbirth
Maternal and Child Health Journal
We have subscriptions to a variety of midwifery journals in order for your care to be informed by the best quality evidence based practice. If there is a specific journal or book you would like access to but cannot find, please let us know via email at Library@uhbw.nhs.uk and we can look into acquiring it for you.
EBSCO Host provides access to a variety of medical databases, each of which provide access to thousands of journal articles. These databases include:
CINAHL
CINAHL is "The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature". It is one of the most popular healthcare databases, including journals from 50 different nursing specialties, allied health professions, medicine and more.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
MEDLINE Complete
MEDLINE Complete is a full-text database of biomedical and health journals. It is a companion to MEDLINE, providing full text for thousands of medical journals for doctors, nurses, and other health professionals.
You can access EBSCO Host Databases via your Open Athens resource hub, or by logging in here.
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Although the articles in these journals are not written specifically for midwifery, relevant journal articles, research studies and guideline updates from obstetrics and gynaecology journals can have an impact on the work and practice of midwifes. As such, we have collated a list of journals that may be useful wider reading for your professional practice. For help with access, please contact us at library@uhbw.nhs.uk.
Obstetrics & Gynecology
American Journal of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynecology
Journal of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Maternal and Child Nutrition
Maternal-Fetal Medicine
General Medicine
Although midwifery is not always the focus, these widely renowned "Big Four" journals are useful to keep an eye on, as they often produce relevant studies and guideline updates in the wider medical sphere, which can be of importance with condition comorbidities. The articles in these journals are often on the cutting edge of current research.
We have access to over 500 midwifery specific books and journal articles via our library catalogue.
You can access them via your SWIMS account: See below for some examples of what you can find. For support with accessing books and ebooks, please contact us at library@uhbw.nhs.uk.
If there is a specific book you would like access to but cannot find, or if you have any recommendations for us to stock at the library, please let us know via email at Library@uhbw.nhs.uk and we can look into acquiring it for you.
We have access to over 200 midwifery book chapters via Oxford University press. You can access them here by using your Open Athens login.
