Information on resources and links to literature sources available to Sirona Staff who work in the allied health professions. The Knowledge and Library Service have subscriptions to a range of national, regional and locally purchased healthcare and clinical content, and we'd like you to get the most out of each resource. This guide should help you to use our resources more effectively by providing information, advice and links to the tools and resources.
If you have a question regarding anything in this guide or you are encountering issues accessing any of these resources then please contact us atsirona.library@nhs.net
The library's collection of print and electronic books cover many topics of interest to allied health professionals. You must be a member of the Library if you wish to borrow a book, simply fill out this form to join.
Search for print and e-books available in NHS libraries across the South and West using the SWIMS library catalogue. These can either be collected from the UHBW Libraries or posted directly to you.
You can also search the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub to find eBooks by carrying out a basic search and limiting by Books. You'll need an Open Athens account to access the resources on the Hub - register for one here if you haven't already got one.
Can't find what you're looking for? Just email the details to sirona.library@nhs.net and we'll try to get hold of it for you from another NHS Library.
As well as the Hub we have 2 collections of eBooks for you to explore:
Kortext is an eBook and eTextbook provider of digital copies of key medical, nursing and healthcare titles. The collection features a number of titles and new titles are being added frequently. Texts can be read either via the the desktop platform or the mobile app and the platform has features to support easy navigation of texts, such as key word or term searching, the ability to select and highlights passages of text, ability to make notes and export them to email, bookmarking of pages and more.
E-book collection which includes all the Oxford Medicine Handbook series, the Oxford Handbooks in Nursing and the 'Emergencies in...' series. The collection features over 130 key titles incl. the Oxford Textbook of Medicine, Emergencies in Critical Care, the Oxford Handbook in Adult Nursing and many more. Users will need to use the 'Sign in now' button to sign in using OpenAthens. Below are a selection available to you - click on the book to access the full text:
Our journal collection includes many high-impact publications. Access to the majority of our journals is online via Browzine, an OpenAthens account is required to read full text.
Browzine is a web and mobile app which allows you to search, read, and monitor your favourite journals, making it easier to keep up to date with the latest research in your area of practice.
These following databases are a good starting point for more complex searches and searching to support research. You have access to these databases either by using your OpenAthens account or freely online..
the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed and covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
AMED offers access to complementary and alternative medicine topics, such as acupuncture, chiropractic, homeopathy, hospice care, hypnosis, palliative care, physiotherapy, podiatry, rehabilitation and speech and language therapy.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
A free Australian database of over 43,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
Access: Free
OTseeker database contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Research evidence is retrieved from over 1,000 different journals and numerous bibliographic databases
Access: Free
Emcare coverage includes complementary medicine, nutrition and dietetics, physiotherapy and rehabilitation and public and occupational health.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
APA PsycInfo remains one of the most current resources available for exploring and locating behavioral and social science research.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Covers public and social policy, social care, mental and community health and community development.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Department of Health: includes statistics on adult social care, health inequalities, obesity, mortality and non-communicable diseases.
Office of National Statistics [ONS] : includes population statistics, census statistics and health statistics.
Nuffield Trust: comments/reports on statistics - waiting lists, emergency admissions and quality indicators.
NHS Digital Data: the statutory custodian for health and care data for England.
NHS England Statistics: the NHS publishes statistics on a range of health and care subjects.
The Kings Fund: comments on data/statistics from OECD and the NHS amongst others
The Health Foundation: Analysis of UK Health data from various sources.
OECD: charts, maps, tables and statistics from the OECD including Health at a Glance indicators.
United Nations: includes statistics on population and society
World Health Organisation: explore a world of health data
Our staff are skilled in carrying out literature searches in support of research and patient care. We can help to save you time and ensure you find the high-quality information you need.
This is a free service provided by Sirona Knowledge and Library Services to support clinical practice, service development and research. You can have your search set up as an alert so that you will be emailed details of new publications on a weekly or monthly basis.
Just fill out the online form to request a search, turnaround time is 2 weeks, less if we can.
including care pathways, interventional procedure guidance, quality standards and more.
for systematic reviews, protocols and trials from the Cochrane Library
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Users can search across research articles and papers, images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedure 
An online version of this key nursing text. The Manual includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care.
A clinical decision support tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation, with advice on symptom evaluation, tests to order and treatment approach.
KnowledgeShare Current Awareness updates provide a highly tailored, individual update of newly published health care information in your areas of interest..
How does it work?
Tell Knowledge and Library Services about your areas of interest - you can be as broad or as detailed as you like - and how often you would like to be updated. Your Current Awareness update will be personally configured by a professional librarian to ensure you only receive relevant, high quality information. Find out more about KnowledgeShare here.
What kind of information will be included in the update?
The health care evidence from KnowledgeShare is drawn from a wide variety of sources, including local publications and events, published research literature and national guidance and policy documents. Each item is selected, categorised and summarised by professional health librarians to save you time.
How often will I be updated?
Your librarian will email you a consolidated update once every two weeks, so you are not overloaded with updates. If you see anything in the update you want more information on, simply reply to the email and ask.
Request a personalised current awareness update by completing our online form or by emailing your areas of interest to sirona.library@nhs.net
