This guide provides information and links to nursing resources available to Sirona staff
The Knowledge and Library Service have subscriptions to a range of national, regional and locally purchased healthcare and clinical content and we'd like you to get the most out of each resource. This guide should help you to use the resources more effectively by providing links, information and advice on the available tools and resources.
If you have a question regarding anything in this guide or you are encountering issues accessing any of these resources then please contact us at sirona.library@nhs.net
The library's collection of print and electronic books cover many topics of interest to allied health professionals. You must be a member of the Library if you wish to borrow a book, simply fill out this form to join.
Search for print and e-books available in NHS libraries across the South and West using the SWIMS library catalogue. These can either be collected from the UHBW Libraries or posted directly to you.
You can also search the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub to find eBooks by carrying out a basic search and limiting by Books. You'll need an Open Athens account to access the resources on the Hub - register for one here if you haven't already got one.
Searching: Health and Care Evidence, from Health Education England
Can't find what you're looking for? Just email the details to sirona.library@nhs.net and we'll try to get hold of it for you from another NHS Library.
As well as the Hub we have 2 collections of eBooks for you to explore:
An online version of this key nursing text. The Manual includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care. To access: Log in with OpenAthens account
Kortext is an eBook and eTextbook provider of digital copies of key medical, nursing and healthcare titles. The collection features a number of titles and new titles are being added frequently. Texts can be read either via the the desktop platform or the mobile app and the platform has features to support easy navigation of texts, such as key word or term searching, the ability to select and highlights passages of text, ability to make notes and export them to email, bookmarking of pages and more.
E-book collection which includes all the Oxford Medicine Handbook series, the Oxford Handbooks in Nursing and the 'Emergencies in...' series. The collection features over 130 key titles incl. the Oxford Textbook of Medicine, Emergencies in Critical Care, the Oxford Handbook in Adult Nursing and many more. Users will need to use the 'Sign in now' button to sign in using OpenAthens
Our journal collection includes many high-impact publications. Access to the majority of our journals is online via Browzine, an OpenAthens account is required to read full text.
Browzine is a web and mobile app which allows you to search, read, and monitor your favourite journals, making it easier to keep up to date with the latest research in your area of practice.
You have access to the following databases via your OpenAthens account:
British Nursing Index is a leading database for support of practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the UK or following UK practice. It provides references to literature in the most relevant nursing and midwifery journals. Also included are relevant nursing articles from selected medical, allied health, community and health management journals. Coverage is mainly titles published in the UK, plus a selection of important international nursing titles.
Coverage: 1994-Current
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
he new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments. CINAHL Ultimate includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,253 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
EMCARE covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals. It is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
PubMed comprises over 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health. PubMed also links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Users can search across research articles and papers, images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
including care pathways, interventional procedure guidance, quality standards and more.
A clinical decision support tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation, with advice on symptom evaluation, tests to order and treatment approach. Access to BMJ Best Practice is provided by Health Education England to all NHS staff in England.
We use KnowledgeShare to draw evidence from a variety of sources, to provide you with the latest high-quality dental evidence, tailored to your interests. Updates will be sent out two-weekly or monthly depending on your preference.
Request a personalised Evidence Update by completing our online form or by emailing your areas of interest to sirona.library@nhs.net
