LibGuides: UHBW Library and Information Services: For Leadership

Leadership & Management at UHBW

The Leadership, Management and Coaching Team are a team at UHBW dedicated to providing a variety of training to all staff across UHBW. They specialise in delivering sessions focusing on leadership skills and styles and ensuring all staff have access to management training. Find more information and resources with the Learning, Management and Coaching Learning Hub.

Don't forget to join the UHBW Leaders Network, set up by the Trust to provide support with leadership and management skills: leadersnetwork@groups.uhbw.nhs.uk.

Executive Postcard

UHBW Library and Knowledge service's Executive Postcard outlines the support available for senior leadership. Click the image to enlarge.

Research briefings

UHBW Library and Knowledge service produces research briefings or evidence summaries that collate the most useful recent information on a topic to support Patient First, as well as Trust projects and initiatives. Recent evidence summaries produced by the library are listed on our Evidence Summary page (copies can be provided on request).

Summaries to support Patient First objectives can be viewed on our Patient First page.

Knowledge Mobilisation (KM)

The Library can support you with Knowledge Management and Knowledge Mobilisation activities such as After Action Reviews, Knowledge transfer, and knowledge retention. Check out our Knowledge Mobilisation page for further information.

South West Leadership Academy

"You will find a large range of development programmes, master classes, workshops, resources and tools all available to you as a health and care leader (or aspiring leader) within the South West."

- Tom Rossiter, Head of Leadership, Lifelong Learning and Talent

You can find a wealth of health and care leadership development resources on the NHS Leadership Academy website, as well as the local South West Leadership Academy page.

NHS Confederation networks

Delivered by the NHS Confederation, the Health and Care Women Leaders Network is a free network for all women working across health and care.

Find out more here:
Health and Care Women Leaders
Network | NHS Confederation

The BME Leadership Network exists to strengthen the voice of NHS black and minority ethnic (BME) leaders and to support NHS organisations to meet the needs of all communities.

Find out more here:
BME Leadership Network |
NHS Confederation

The Health and Care LGBTQ+ Leaders Network was created to improve the experience of LGBTQ+ staff and patients and increasing LGBTQ+ representation in senior leadership to influence change across the system.

Find out more here:
Health and Care LGBTQ+ Leaders
Network | NHS Confederation

#ILPledge

NHS Confederation have created an inclusive leadership resource. The inclusive leadership pledge promotes nine behaviours you can adopt to model inclusive leadership.

Sign and share the pledge now to demonstrate your commitment to modelling inclusive leadership - it takes less than a minute.

Books

UHBW Library and Knowledge Service has worked in collaboration with the Leadership Team to create a collection of relevant titles about leadership, management and coaching. Check out our full collection or browse the tabs below for selected titles.

If there is a specific book title you're after that is not currently part of our collection, please let us know via email at library@uhbw.nhs.uk and we can look into acquiring it for you.

Recommended Reading

Gravitas : timeless skills to communicate with confidence and build trust book cover

No bullsh*t change : an 8 step guide for leaders book cover

Start with why : how great leaders inspire everyone to take action book cover

Leading Culture Change by Chris Dawson
ISBN: 9780804774673
Author Christopher S. Dawson draws on 25 years of experience as an organizational consultant in a variety of industries to delineate five critical success factors, without which culture change is unlikely to occur. He offers practical tools and approaches to facilitate culture change, in addition to an overall framework that acts as a yardstick for seasoned and new top leaders. This book is an ideal guide for the leaders of today and tomorrow —as well as a valuable supplement to management consultants' and human resource executives' professional training.
Managing and Leading People Through Organizational Change by Julie Hodges
ISBN: 9780749474195
Written for leaders with the key responsibility of managing people through transitions, Managing and Leading People through Organizational Change provides a critical analysis of change and transformation in organizations from a theoretical and practical perspective. This book demonstrates how theory can be applied in practice through practical examples and recommendations, focusing on the importance of understanding the impact of the nature of change on individuals and engaging them collaboratively throughout the transformation journey.
No Bullsh*t Change : An 8 Step Guide for Leaders by Chris Hurst
ISBN: 9781800815704
A practical, enjoyable and proven manual for leading transformational change. Drawing on an international career of leading successful change programmes, Chris Hirst cuts through the bullsh*t to reveal uncomplicated strategies for transformation - no matter the size of your organisation or the nature of the challenge.
Organization development : the process of leading organizational change by Donald L. Anderson
ISBN: 9781544372235
Exploring every stage of the organization development process, in his new edition Donald L. Anderson includes new strategies for change such as appreciative inquiry, world café, and open space. Emphasizing organization development ethics and values in each chapter, the text provides real-world applications and equips students with the tools necessary to thrive in today’s challenging business environment.

Coaching for performance : the principles and practice of coaching and leadership by John Whitmore
ISBN: 9781473658127
An international bestseller, featuring the powerful GROW model, this book is the founding text of the coaching profession. It explains why enabling people to bring the best out of themselves is the key to driving productivity, growth, and engagement. A meaningful coaching culture has the potential to transform the relationship between organizations and employees and to put both on the path to long-term success.
The Coaching Habit by Michael Bungay Stanier
ISBN: 9780978440749
Drawing on years of experience training more than 10,000 busy managers from around the globe in practical, everyday coaching skills, Bungay Stanier reveals how to unlock your peoples' potential. He unpacks seven essential coaching questions to demonstrate how--by saying less and asking more--you can develop coaching methods that produce great results. Witty and conversational, The Coaching Habit takes your work--and your workplace--from good to great.
Coaching Tools by Jonathan Passmore (Editor)
ISBN: 9781911450856
Coaching Tools offer a rich source of over 200 tried-and-tested 'favourite' coaching tools and techniques. The tools are varied, reflecting the range of contributors, and drawing disparately from Behavioural, Cognitive Behavioural, Motivational Interviewing, and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy amongst others. Fully illustrated in colour, each tool is presented in a simple to use step-by-step guide, making this an essential contribution to every coach's and leader's personal library.

The 5 Disciplines of Inclusive Leaders by Andrés T. Tapia; et al
ISBN: 9781523088225
Diversity initiatives are falling short. This book shows leaders how to develop the skills needed to build sustainably inclusive organizations using a tested, research-based model developed by the global organizational consulting firm Korn Ferry. This book draws on Korn Ferry's massive database of 3 million leadership assessments to reveal the essential qualities of inclusive leaders. They discuss the personality traits these leaders share and detail how to develop what they call the five disciplines of inclusive leadership.
Compassionate leadership : sustaining wisdom, humanity and presence in health and social care by Michael A. West
ISBN: 9780995766976
Those who work in health and social care give inspiring support for the health, happiness and well-being of all. Yet their workplaces often harm their own health and well-being, affecting care quality, motivation, patient satisfaction and corroding cultures of compassion. In these pages, an evidence-based approach to transforming the leadership and cultures of health and social care teams and organisations is described. Practical, powerful and compelling, it shows that by sustaining compassion in health and social care, we can cultivate wisdom, humanity, presence and high-quality in health and care services.
The Compassionate Mind by Paul Gilbert
ISBN: 9781849010986
In this ground-breaking new book he explores how our minds have developed to be highly sensitive and quick to react to perceived threats and how this fast-acting threat-response system can be a source of anxiety, depression and aggression. He describes how studies have also shown that developing kindness and compassion for self and others can hep in calming down the threat system, soothe distressing emotions, and increase feelings of contentment and well-being.
Emotional intelligence : why it can matter more than IQ by Daniel Goleman
ISBN: 0747528306
Is IQ destiny? Not nearly as much as we think. Daniel Goleman's fascinating and persuasive book argues that our view of human intelligence is far too narrow, and that our emotions play a much greater role in thought, decision making and individual success than is commonly acknowledged. Drawing on groundbreaking brain and behavioural research, Goleman shows the factors at work when people of high IQ flounder and those of modest IQ do surprisingly well. Goleman gives new insights into the brain architecture underlying emotion and rationality, and he shows precisely how emotional intelligence can be nurtured and strengthened in all of us.
Inclusive Leadership by Charlotte Sweeney & Fleur Bothwick
ISBN: 9781292112725
The most successful organisations are those with the most diverse and engaged workforces. When people feel included and able to reach their full potential, they are more engaged, more productive and often more creative. Inclusive Leadership will help you drive culture change using organisational development principles. It takes you through the key components of leading change throughout the employee lifecycle, your supply chain, and through product development. Crucially, it will help you make a genuine impact on your business, through your people, both now and in the future.
Unconscious Bias : Everything you need to know about our hidden prejudices by Annie Burdick
ISBN: 9781787839731
Unconscious bias affects us all. From the smallest assumption to the most sweeping generalization, the way we think about others can unknowingly influence our behaviour and shape our culture. Acting as your mentor and guide, this book will take you through the most common forms of prejudice, including gender, race, size, age and sexuality. It also explores the psychology behind our biases and provides actionable tips and simple exercises to help you combat implicit judgements.

HBR's 10 Must Reads on Strategy by Harvard Business Review
ISBN: 9781422157985
If you read nothing else on strategy, read these 10 Harvard Business Review articles to help you catalyse your organisation's strategy development and execution. HBR's 10 Must Reads on Strategy will inspire you to: Distinguish your company from rivals, Clarify what your company will and won't do, Craft a vision for an uncertain future, Create blue oceans of uncontested market space, Use the Balanced Scorecard to measure your strategy, Capture your strategy in a memorable phrase, Make priorities explicit. Allocate resources early and Clarify decision rights for faster decision making
Strategy Safari by Henry Mintzberg; et al
ISBN: 9780273719588
The world of strategy can seem to be an impenetrable jungle. Strategy Safari presents a powerful antidote to the dilemma of needing to know about strategy and yet not being able to find any comprehensible guidelines. This revised edition is a comprehensive, colourful and illuminating tour through the wilds of strategic management. In this provocative, jargon-free and extremely readable guide, top strategy authors Mintzberg, Ahlstrand & Lampel clearly set out and critique each of the ten major schools of strategic management thinking to help you grasp what you really need to know. Take the strategy safari - your business will thank you for it.

Develop Your Leadership Skills by John Adair
ISBN: 9780749475635
Develop Your Leadership Skills is John Adair's most accessible title on leadership. Full of exercises and checklists, it will boost your confidence levels, inspire you and guide you on your journey to becoming a leader of excellence. Suitable for anyone who wishes to improve or develop their leadership skills, this guide distills the essence of John Adair's teaching and provides a framework for becoming an effective leader.
Gravitas by Louise Mahler
ISBN: 9781394237333
Boost your confidence and transform your speaking skills with wisdom from the ancients. In Gravitas: Timeless Skills to Communicate with Confidence and Build Trust , communications expert Louise Mahler shows how this ancient virtue can help you rethink modern communication and transform your presence and impact as a leader today. By cultivating your own gravitas, you'll be able to build trust effectively -- and communicate any message clearly and with confidence.
HBR 20-Minute Manager Boxed Set by Harvard Business Review
Don't have much time? Get up to speed fast on the most essential business skills with HBR's 20-Minute Manager series. Whether you need a crash course or a brief refresher, each book in the series is a concise, practical primer that will help you brush up on a key management topic. Advice you can quickly read and apply, for ambitious professionals and aspiring executives—from the most trusted source in business.
She Thinks Like a Boss: 9 Essential Skills for New Female Leaders in Business and the Workplace. by Jemma Roedel
ISBN: 9781919617817
Publication Date: 2021-07-21
In an incredibly male-dominated world, it's crucial to develop the necessary skills to become an effective leader and start demanding what you deserve. Luckily, it's easier than you think. All you need are easy, proven skills and traits that will help you gradually develop your self-esteem, sharpen your trust, and hone your boundary-setting and communication skills. In She Thinks Like a Boss, you will be given specific and practical techniques to help you gradually overcome the problems you're facing.

The Essentials of Nursing Leadership by Ruth Taylor & Brian Webster-Henderson (Editors)
ISBN: 9781412962018
This new approach to leadership focuses on how students can develop leadership skills right from the start of their nursing programme through to transitioning to their first role. The book first takes students through the underpinning knowledge and theory and then through practical skills to help them understand all aspects of leadership and how it is a key component of providing quality care to patients in a range of environments and settings.
Leadership, Management and Team Working in Nursing by Peter Ellis
ISBN: 9781473997912
With all nurses expected to demonstrate leadership, management and team working skills it is vital that students engage with this aspect of their training as early as possible. As well as covering all of the core theory and knowledge, the authors encourage the reader to explore their own values and experiences when it comes to leadership that will help to develop emotional intelligence and a solid understanding of what good leadership and management practice looks like and why it matters to them.
Medical Leadership: a toolkit for service development and systems transformation by Jill Aylott (editors); et al
ISBN: 9781315440866
Today's health care systems need doctors and consultants to act as leaders, within the multi-disciplinary team, in addition to carrying out their clinical role. This book identifies the key elements of successful leadership through 'medically led' service development and systems transformation and shows how this benefits patient care, particularly when patients become partners in the process. Medical Leadership will be essential reading for students on medical and clinical leadership courses internationally as well as for all practising doctors, consultants and General Practitioners.
Oxford Professional Practice: Handbook of Medical Leadership and Management by Paula Murphy (Editor);et al
ISBN: 9780192849007
The provision of high-quality care with good outcomes is a challenge for most clinicians working in the complex health system. Most clinicians have not had formal training in leadership yet are expected to take on a leadership and management role when appointed as a consultant in a health service. In this handbook, the basics of clinical leadership are provided with a practical approach on how to be an effective clinical leader and manager.

Journals

Browse our current journal collection via Browzine. You have access to hundreds of journals across specialties, which you can view in full either on your web browser or your smart device.

We're also able to facilitate access to the Health Services Journal for senior managers upon request.
Please don't hesitate to get in touch if you think you would benefit from the subscription.

We have subscriptions to a variety of leadership and management journals in order for your care to be informed by the best quality evidence based practice. If there is a specific journal or book you would like access to but cannot find, please let us know via email at library@uhbw.nhs.uk and we can look into acquiring it for you.

Key reports and publications

Want to know what lies ahead? Start reading about the impact of leadership and management on the future of the health care system. We've hand-picked a few key reports to get you started:

The practice of collaborative leadership: Across health and care services
The King's Fund (2023)
A picture of health? Examining the state of leadership and management in healthcare
Social Market Foundation (2023)
Governing the health and care system in England: creating the conditions for success
NHS Confederation (2022)
What do NHS managers contribute?
NHS Confederation (2022)
Five recommendations for strengthening NHS management and leadership
The Health Foundation (2022)
Strengthening NHS management and leadership
The Health Foundation (2022)
Leadership for a collaborative and inclusive future
Department of Health and Social Care (2022)
Leading for integrated care: 'If you think competition is hard, you should try collaboration'
The King's Fund (2019)
Caring to change: how compassionate leadership can stimulate innovation in health care
The King's Fund (2017)

Databases

Health Business Elite (HBE) contains full-text content for more than 600 journals, including Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare and many more. Subjects include hospital administration and management, health policy and medical law. Additional content also includes healthcare company profiles and an image collection which includes photographs, illustrations, charts, diagrams, maps and graphs.

Health Management Information Consortium (HMIC) is produced by the library services of the UK’s Department of Health and The King’s Fund. The HMIC database covers official publications, journal articles and grey literature relating to health and social care management, including leadership and management of the NHS and the quality of health services.

Current awareness updates

We produce regular Evidence Updates for departments across the Trust. You can find these - including a quarterly bulletin for the latest evidence supporting Executive & Quality Improvement work, listed on our Evidence Update page.

The Bodleian Library, University of Oxford, produces a monthly Healthcare Leadership Bulletin. You can also request to be added to the circulation list for this bulletin by emailing the Bodleian Library team: hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

We also recommend you sign onto KnowledgeShare, a current awareness platform where you can create your own profile and set professional interests to receive tailored updates where and when you like.

Via your profile, you can sign up to receive a digest of a particular journal title like BMJ Leader (in the 'Journal Alerts' section) and/or update the 'Professional Interests' field with indexed headings like the one for Leadership (though you might also choose to include further headings, e.g. your field of expertise or Career Progression more generally).