LibGuides: UHBW Library and Information Services: Diversity and Inclusivity

Global Majorities Resources

Atlas of Black Skin by Ali Moiin (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030314873

Publication Date: 2021-08-27

This atlas strives to supplement a lack of real world experience by providing more than 800 hundred high quality photographs and illustrations help guide physicians in treating the nuances of darker skinned patient populations. Atlas of Black Skin is an essential tool for practitioners looking to broaden the scope of their care.
Mind the gap : a handbook of clinical signs in black and brown skin by Mukwende, M. ; Tamony, P. ; Turner, M
Call Number: WR140

ISBN: 9781527269088

Publication Date: 2020

Mind the Gap is a Clinical Handbook of signs and symptoms in Black and Brown skin.
Divided : racism, medicine and why we need to decolonise healthcare by Annabel Sowemimo
Call Number: HM270

ISBN: 9781788169202

Publication Date: 2023

Divided exposes the racial biases of medicine that affect our everyday lives and provides an illuminating - and incredibly necessary - insight into how our world works, and who it works for.
Ethnic Dermatology by Ophelia E. Dadzie; Antoine Petit; Andrew F. Alexis
Call Number: WR100

ISBN: 9781118497838

Publication Date: 2013-01-02

Ethnic Dermatology: Principles and Practice provides a practical approach to the dermatology of nonwhite skin.
Black Men's Health by Yarneccia D. Dyson (Editor); Vanessa Robinson-Dooley (Editor); Jerry Watson (Editor)
ISBN: 9783031049965

Publication Date: 2023-07-06

Black Men's Health serves as a core text across multiple disciplines and can be utilized in undergraduate- and graduate-level curriculums. It equips students and educators in social work, nursing, public health, and other helping professions with the knowledge and insight that can be helpful in their future experiences of working with Black men or men from other marginalized racial/ethnic groups and their families/social support systems.

Black and British by David Olusoga
Call Number: HM268

ISBN: 9781447299769

Publication Date: 2018-01-01

In this vital re-examination of a shared history, historian and broadcaster David Olusoga tells the rich and revealing story of the long relationship between the British Isles and the people of Africa and the Caribbean.
Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo
Call Number: PZ

ISBN: 9780241984994

Publication Date: 2020

Twelve very different people, mostly black and female, more than a hundred years of change, and one sweeping, vibrant, glorious portrait of contemporary Britain. Bernardine Evaristo presents a gloriously new kind of history for this old country- ever-dynamic, ever-expanding and utterly irresistible.
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People about Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge
ISBN: 9781408870570

Publication Date: 2017-06-01

Exploring everything from eradicated black history to the inextricable link between class and race, Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race is the essential handbook for anyone who wants to understand race relations in Britain today.
East side voices : Essays celebrating East and Southeast Asian identity in Britain by Helena Lee (editor)
Call Number: PE

ISBN: 9781529344509

Publication Date: 2022

East Side Voices invites us to explore a dazzling spectrum of experience from the East and Southeast Asian diaspora living in Britain today. Showcasing original essays and poetry from well-known celebrities, prize-winning literary stars and exciting new writers, East Side Voices takes us many places: from the frontlines of the NHS in the midst of the Covid pandemic, to the set of a Harry Potter film, from a bustling London restaurant to a spirit festival in Myanmar.
Black and Female by Tsitsi Dangarembga
Call Number: HM270

ISBN: 9780571373192

Publication Date: 2022

At once philosophical, intimate, and urgent, Black and Female is a powerful testimony of the pervasive and long-lasting effects of racism and patriarchy that provides an ultimately hopeful vision for change.

19 Black Bristol Women Who’ve Made a Difference
Pioneering, passionate and powerful, these women have helped change our city for the better. From artists to activists, from councillors to carnivalistas, these are names you need to know.
DermNet
DermNet®, created for healthcare professionals to serve as a comprehensive database of skin conditions, is a not-for-profit, independent health publisher with a mission to make trustworthy information about the skin accessible to anyone.
NEJM Race and Medicine
The Race and Medicine collection reflects NEJM’s commitment to understanding and combating racism as a public health and human rights crisis. Their commitment to antiracism includes efforts to educate the medical community about systemic racism, to support physicians and aspiring physicians who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color, and ultimately to improve the care and lives of patients who are Black, Indigenous, and people of colour.
Primary Care Dermatology Society
The PCDS website is recognised as one of the world's leading dermatology websites with a comprehensive diagnostic resource and concise guidance on the management of skin conditions.
Reframe Image Gallery
Reframe - Diverse Images for Healthcare is an initiative led by NHS England, the University of the West of England Bristol (UWE Bristol), and Medical Illustration at University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust (UHBW). The project created a high-quality, standardised image bank to enhance clinical education and diagnostic accuracy.
Skin Deep
Skin Deep is led by the international medical education team, Don’t Forget the Bubbles (DFTB) and the Royal London Hospital (RLH). The team behind Skin Deep hopes that with time, this will improve education and recognition of conditions in all skin tones, reducing inequalities and improving patient care by ensuring that all children receive a timely diagnosis regardless of their skin colour.
Skin of Colour in Dermatology Education
Medical training which is representative of the diverse UK population is essential for good patient care. Understanding how presentations, incidence, and outcomes of skin diseases vary is vital for providing good quality treatment, regardless of ethnic background or skin tone.
Skin of Colour Resources
From the University of Nottingham, the CEBD Skin of Colour Resources, brings together information sources, systematic reviews and review articles on topics of relevance to skin of colour.

LGBTQIA+ Resources

Transgender Health by Ben Vincent; Stuart Lorimer (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781784504755

Publication Date: 2018-06-21

This guide provides accessible and practical advice on tailoring the social and ethical aspects of practice to the needs of each individual. Beyond setting out how clinical procedures should work for gender reassignment, it explains how to use language and pronouns in a respectful way, provides information on transgender services and resources, and offers insights into the challenges commonly faced by transgender people in both medical and social contexts.
Voice and Communication Therapy with Trans and Non-Binary People by Matthew Mills; Gillie Stoneham;
Call Number: WB570

ISBN: 9781787751040

Publication Date: 2020-09-21

Written by two leading authorities on voice and communication therapy for trans people, this is an essential and authoritative resource for anyone working with trans and non-binary clients who are seeking their voice exploration.
LGBTQ Health Research by Ron Stall (Editor); Brian Dodge (Editor); José A. Bauermeister (Editor); Tonia Poteat (Editor); Chris Beyrer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781421438795

Publication Date: 2020-09-01

The first book focused entirely on the growing field of LGBTQ health research, this volume provides the necessary public health tools to teach about and study LGBTQ populations effectively.
Trans and Non-Binary Gender Healthcare for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, and Other Health Professionals by Christina Richards; James Barrett
ISBN: 9781108703024

Publication Date: 2020-08-27

Written by two clinicians with significant experience in this field, this book provides practical, everyday advice on what to do when seeing gender-diverse people in both inpatient and outpatient settings.
Transgender Employees in the Workplace by Jennie Kermode
ISBN: 9781784505448

Publication Date: 2017-09-21

This concise volume is the essential introduction for any employer on how to work effectively and respectfully with transgender employees, without asking the employee inappropriate or personal questions. In simple terms, it explains what it means to be transgender, the common challenges transgender people experience, and how you can best support transgender employees in their roles, and in their relationships with colleagues and clients.

Queer: a Graphic History by Meg John Barker
Call Number: HQ305

ISBN: 9781785780714

Publication Date: 2016-11-15

From identity politics and gender roles to privilege and exclusion, Queer explores how we came to view sex, gender and sexuality in the ways that we do; how these ideas get tangled up with our culture and our understanding of biology, psychology and sexology; and how these views have been disputed and challenged.
Drag by Simon Doonan
Call Number: HQ300

ISBN: 9781786274236

Publication Date: 2019-09-17

With witty text, dazzling photography, and corralled into thematic chapters, this is the first flamboyant and poignant survey of drag culture. Drag is not just for fabulous queens and drag enthusiasts, but for anyone interested in gender fluidity and the culture surrounding it.
Trans Britain by Christine Burns
Call Number: HQ320

ISBN: 9781783528448

Publication Date: 2019-11-07

Over the last five years, transgender people have seemed to burst into the public eye. This apparently overnight emergence, though, is just the latest stage in a long and varied history. Trans Britain chronicles this journey in the words of those who were there to witness a marginalised community grow into the visible phenomenon we recognise today. Here is everything you always wanted to know about the background of the trans community, but never knew how to ask.
Lie With Me by Philippe Besson, Molly Ringwald (Translator)
Call Number: PZ

ISBN: 9780241987094

Publication Date: 2019

Just outside a hotel in Bordeaux, Philippe, a famous writer, chances upon a young man who bears a striking resemblance to his first love. What follows is a look back to Philippe's teenage years, to a winter morning in 1984, a small French high school, and a carefully timed encounter between two seventeen-year-olds. It's the start of a secret, intensely passionate, world-altering love affair between Philippe and his classmate
The Stonewall Reader by New York Public Library (Editor); Edmund White (Foreword by); Jason Baumann (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: HQ305

ISBN: 9780143133513

Publication Date: 2019-04-30

Drawing from the New York Public Library's archives, The Stonewall Reader is a collection of first accounts, diaries, periodic literature, and articles from LGBTQ magazines and newspapers that documented both the years leading up to and the years following the riots.

LGBT Action Plan 2018: Improving the lives of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender people
In response to the National LGBT survey, this LGBT Action Plan outlines firm commitments to tackle some of the biggest issues facing LGBT people (published July 2018)
LGBTQ+ Support Hub
Welcome to the LGBTQ+ Support Hub! Whether you’re looking for mental health support, sexual health services, or community connections, this hub provides trusted local and national resources. From youth groups to legal advocacy, you’ll find the support you need to thrive and feel part of an inclusive community. Let’s get started!
LGBTQIA+ mental health
Being LGBTQIA+ isn't a mental health problem. And it doesn't cause mental health problems. But those of us who are LGBTQIA+ often face difficult experiences, like discrimination and stigma. These experiences can affect our mental health. Mind's resources explain some experiences that may affect your mental health.
NHS England: LGBT Health
The evidence that LGBT+ people have disproportionately worse health outcomes and experiences of healthcare is both compelling and consistent. With almost every measure we look at LGBT+ communities fare worse than others. This is unacceptable, and the NHS needs to increase our efforts to address these health inequalities.
Supporting LGBT People with Cancer
While Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans (LGBT) people report many good experiences of care, there are some areas that still need attention. These case examples of practice are intended to support professionals to personalise care for LGBT people with cancer.

Learning Disability Nursing by Ruth Northway; Paula Hopes
Call Number: WM815

ISBN: 9781914171352

Publication Date: 2022-09-01

Exploring all aspects of professional development in learning disability nursing, key themes running through the book include the importance of a human rights and values-based approach, the development of person-centred approaches to care and support, and the need to work in partnership with key stakeholders, including people with learning disabilities and their families.
Learning Disability Nursing at a Glance by Bob Gates; Debra Fearns; Jo Welch
ISBN: 9781118506110

Publication Date: 2014-12-18

This visual, dynamic and user-friendly resource addresses the key principles underpinning contemporary learning disability nursing practice, relates them to key clinical practice issues, and explores them in the context of maintaining health and well-being.
Autism spectrum disorders : characteristics, causes & practical issues by Jill Boucher
ISBN: 9781529744699

Publication Date: 2022

From historical information to methods of assessment, and from intervention to education and support, this informative and accessible text explores theories at the psychological, neurobiological and ′first cause′ levels.
Parent Training for Autism Spectrum Disorder by Cynthia R. Johnson (Editor); Eric M. Butter (Editor); Lawrence Scahill (Editor)
ISBN: 9781433829710

Publication Date: 2018

Backed by decades of research, parent training is a psychotherapeutic technique in which parents are main drivers of change for their children. The clinician passes knowledge to the parents and teaches them more effective parenting skills and behaviors. This clinical guide shows practitioners how to apply this approach with families of children with ASD.
Living with Chronic Illness and Disability by Esther Chang; Amanda Johnson
Call Number: WB613

ISBN: 9780729542616

Publication Date: 2017-08-02

This third edition provides a holistic framework and models of care that are essential for caring for individuals and families living the life altering journey of chronic illness and disability.

Camouflage : the hidden life of autistic women by Sarah Bargiela
Call Number: WM122

ISBN: 9781785925665

Publication Date: 2019-03-21

Autism in women and girls is still not widely understood, and is often misrepresented or even overlooked. This engaging and accessible graphic novel offers invaluable insight into the lives and minds of autistic women, using real-life case studies.
The curious incident of the dog in the night-time by Mark Haddon
ISBN: 0099450259

Publication Date: 2004

A murder mystery novel like no other. The detective, and narrator, is Christopher Boone. Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger's Syndrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings. He loves lists, patterns and the truth. He hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched. He has never gone further than the end of the road on his own, but when he finds a neighbour's dog murdered he sets out on a terrifying journey which will turn his whole world upside down.
Care work : dreaming disability justice by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha
Call Number: WB600

ISBN: 9781551527383

Publication Date: 2018-10-30

In this collection of essays, Lambda Literary Award-winning writer and longtime activist and performance artist Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha explores the politics and realities of disability justice, a movement that centers the lives and leadership of sick and disabled queer, trans, Black, and brown people, with knowledge and gifts for all.
Fingers in the Sparkle Jar by Chris Packham
ISBN: 9781785033506

Publication Date: 2017-07-01

The memoir that inspired Chris Packham's BBC documentary, Asperger's and Me . In his rich, lyrical and emotionally exposing memoir, Chris brings to life his childhood in the 70s, from his bedroom bursting with fox skulls, birds' eggs and sweaty jam jars, to his feral adventures. But pervading his story is the search for freedom, meaning and acceptance in a world that didn't understand him.
Disability Visibility by Alice Wong (Editor)
Call Number: WB608

ISBN: 9781984899422

Publication Date: 2020-06-30

Taken together, this anthology gives a glimpse of the vast richness and complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own assumptions and understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and past with hope and love.

UHBW Knowledge and Library Service have a growing collection of resources designed to support neurodivergent people in understanding and nurturing their mental health. Head over to our Wellbeing Page to check out a selection of books, apps, podcasts and websites that can help support neurodiverse mental wellbeing.

Gender Resources

For Professional Guidance
For Pleasure

Invisible women : exposing data bias in a world designed for men by Caroline Criado Perez
ISBN: 9781784741723

Publication Date: 2019

Invisible Women shows us how, in a world largely built for and by men, we are systematically ignoring half the population. From government policy and medical research, to technology, workplaces, urban planning and the media, Invisible Women reveals the biased data that excludes women. Caroline Criado Perez brings together for the first time an impressive range of case studies, stories and new research from across the world that illustrate the hidden ways in which women are forgotten, and the impact this has on their health and well-being.
Assessing and Treating Emotionally Inexpressive Men by Ronald F. Levant; Shana Pryor
ISBN: 9781032444697

Publication Date: 2024-07-01

What if your new client, a man in his early 40s, cannot answer basic questions in your initial assessment interview? You were aware that many men do not like to talk about their feelings, but this client seems kind of frozen. You think he might be alexithymic, but you do not know how to assess for that, or even more importantly, how to treat it. Assessing and Treating Emotionally Inexpressive Men has answers.
Sex matters: how male-centric medicine endangers women's health and what we can do about it by Alyson J. McGregor
ISBN: 9781529405897

Publication Date: 2020

Sex Matters tackles one of the most urgent, yet unspoken issues facing women's health care today: all models of medical research and practice are based on male-centric models that ignore the unique biological and emotional differences between men and women - an omission that endangers women's lives.
Counselling Skills for Working with Gender Diversity and Identity by Michael Beattie; Penny Lenihan;
ISBN: 9781784504816

Publication Date: 2018-03-21

Providing a nuanced and authoritative understanding of the fields of gender variance, gender identity and gender dysphoria, this book provides the ideal starting point for the knowledge and skills that you need. This book explores the diverse range of identities including masculinity, femininity, non-binary, gender dysphoria, trans and cisgender. It also addresses challenges which many clients experience in their daily lives - in the workplace, when coming out, when transitioning and in intimate relationships.
Gender Diversity and Non-Binary Inclusion in the Workplace by Sarah Gibson; J. Fernandez
ISBN: 9781784505233

Publication Date: 2018-01-18

Working with and including non-binary people in the workplace is beneficial for both employer and employee, as it attracts and retains younger and non-binary workers by helping promote an inclusive brand, as well as satisfying equality obligations. Based on novel research of non-binary inclusion within businesses, it provides a basic overview of non-binary people, a business case for inclusion, a brief description of how non-binary people fit into current equality laws and likely future developments in the area. An ideal introduction for companies wishing to embrace all genders in the workplace.

The Descent of Man by Grayson Perry
Call Number: HM240

ISBN: 9780141981741

Publication Date: 2017

What is masculinity and what can it become? It might seem like a luxury in a world facing climate change and vast imbalances in global wealth, but Grayson Perry sees masculinity as a highly active component in all the big issues. Tracing the contours of the dominant male role today, its history and its clearly defined rules, The Descent of Man explores everything from sex, seriousness and intimidation to clothing, childhood and power, suggesting a more modern model of manhood which may reach escape velocity from the gravity of Traditional Man.
Unwell women : a journey through medicine and myth in a man-made world by Elinor Cleghorn
Call Number: WP120

ISBN: 9781474616874

Publication Date: 2022

In this ground-breaking history Elinor Cleghorn unpacks the roots of the perpetual misunderstanding, mystification and misdiagnosis of women's bodies, illness and pain. From the 'wandering womb' of ancient Greece to today's shifting understanding of hormones, menstruation and menopause, Unwell Women is the revolutionary story of women who have suffered, challenged and rewritten medical misogyny. Drawing on Elinor's own experience as an unwell woman, this is a powerful and timely exposé of the medical world and woman's place within it.
Period Power by Maisie Hill
Call Number: WP620

ISBN: 9781472963611

Publication Date: 2019-05-02

Period Power is a profound but practical blueprint for aligning daily life with the menstrual cycle, to give women a no-nonsense explanation of what the hell happens to their hormones every month and how they can use each phase to its full advantage.
Menopause : the one-stop guide : a practical guide to understanding and dealing with the menopause by Kathy Abernethy
Call Number: WP640 ABE

ISBN: 9781788165389

Publication Date: 2019

Designed to help determine what will work best for you, Menopause: The One-Stop Guide offers detailed knowledge about the physiological and psychological effects of the menopause and its treatments, so you can make confident decisions about your health.
Man down : why men are unhappy and what we can do about it by Matt Rudd
Call Number: WM31

ISBN: 9780349424811

Publication Date: 2020

Drawing on stories from his own life, and the varied lives of the other men he has interviewed, Matt Rudd goes back to the beginning to consider what makes the modern man - how the seeds of midlife misery are sown in the school playground and cultivated through adolescence and into adulthood. By turns compassionate and provocative, Man Down asks the important question: is midlife unhappiness inevitable? Spoiler alert: it isn't.

Accessibility at UHBW Libraries

Here at UHBW Library and Learning Hub we’re working to make the library spaces as accessible as possible. This includes both our physical library spaces in Bristol and in Weston, as well as our online collections. It’s important to us that we provide an inclusive service so that everyone can benefit from our services.

Check out our dedicated accessibility page to see how we've made our spaces more accessible.

Staff Networks

As a member of UHBW, there are a range of staff networks you can join. There, you can speak in a safe space of likeminded individuals, and let your voice be heard. You can join:

The ABLE+ network: The ABLE+ network provides an opportunity to meet with colleagues with visible and invisible disabilities.

The REIN network: This network is open to staff from Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic backgrounds from across the trust.

The LGBTQIA+ network: This network is for staff from the LGBTQ+ community to discuss LGBTQ+ related issues within the organisation.

Evidence Updates

Want the latest updates and evidence relating to race, LGBTQIA+, and disability in the health sector? Check out our regular evidence updates here!

Diversity eBooks

Kortext is home to specialist collections funded by NHS England for all NHS staff to use, including 23 e-books on diversity, equality and inclusion, selected through the recommendations of KLS colleagues.

Journals

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Journal

Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion bulletin

The NHS WT&E Knowledge Management Service produce a number of bulletins to keep you up to date with the latest publications and research on different themes relating to workforce, education and training, including their Equality, Diversity and Inclusion bulletin – a weekly summary of research and news covering equality, diversity, inclusion and widening participation relevant to Workforce, Training and Education

Podcasts

Learn more about diversity and inclusion in healthcare with these selected podcasts, originally collated by East Cheshire NHS Library & Knowledge Service!

Inclusive Learning Resources

Funded by NHS England South West and led by University of the West of England, Bristol (UWE), The Inclusive Training within Practice (ITP) project offers free learning resources to support inclusive practice in healthcare and in education. Suitable for a range of audiences across healthcare, these resources address the root cause of racism and discrimination with the aim of improving the experiences and outcomes of Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic learners and international staff in healthcare.

UHBW Library and Information Services: Diversity and Inclusivity