LibGuides: UHBW Library and Information Services: For Midwives

Books

UHBW Library and Knowledge Service has a collection of relevant titles for our midwives. Browse the tabs below to see how our collection can help you.

Use the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub to find more books and journal articles. If you can't find what you're looking for complete our article and book request form, and we'll request it from another library for you!

We also welcome recommendations to help keep our collection relevant and up to date. If you would like to recommend a book for our midwifery collection, please get in touch with us at Library@uhbw.nhs.uk

Launching Your Career in Nursing and Midwifery
ISBN: 9781137362407

Gaining a first job as a nurse or midwife is becoming not only highly competitive but an increasingly more complex process. This practical guide will help students get ahead of other applicants by picking apart the experience of applying for a job from start to finish. Accessible and user-friendly, this is an essential text for student nurses and midwives at any stage in their pre-registration education, and more especially for those in their final year, as they prepare for the move into qualified employment or further discipline specific study.
Mayes' Midwifery
ISBN: 9780323834827

Mayes' Midwifery is a core text for students in the UK, known and loved for its in-depth approach and its close alignment with curricula and practice. The text covers all the main aspects of midwifery in detail, including the various stages of pregnancy, possible complexities around childbirth, and psychological and social considerations related to women's health. It provides the most recent evidence along with detailed anatomy and physiology information, and how these translate into practice.
Midwifery Skills at a Glance
ISBN: 9781119235125

Being an effective midwife requires a range of knowledge and skills, all of which are essential to provide competent and safe care to childbearing women and their infants. Midwifery Skills at a Glance offers an invaluable, straightforward guide for students and practitioners - offering readable, easily digestible information, supported with illustrations throughout to enhance application to practice.
Skills for Midwifery Practice
ISBN: 9780702081910

Skills for Midwifery Practice is the go-to book for all midwifery students who need to learn what to do in a range of situations, how to perform a skill, and why they need to do it in a certain way. With background information, learning outcomes, helpful diagrams and lists to represent the skill flow this book is ideal for midwives in training, qualified midwives returning to practice, as well as other members of the obstetric healthcare team

The Compassionate Mind Approach to Postnatal Depression
ISBN: 9781780330853

It is very common for new mothers to experience a short period of distress following childbirth, often referred to as 'baby blues'. Usually this passes quite quickly, however for more than 1 in 10 women, this distressing experience can be more prolonged. This practical self-help book will help women to recognise some of the symptoms and, where appropriate, to normalise them, thereby alleviating their distress.
Maternal Neonatal Care Made Incredibly Easy!
ISBN: 9781901831085

Maternal-Neonatal Care Made Incredibly Easy! UK Edition offers everything you need to know to perform competent and safe maternal and neonatal nursing care. It covers fundamentals, such as fetal development, legal issues, and ethical issues; family planning, including advantages and disadvantages to contraception methods; infertility; perinatal periods, from conception to labor; postnatal maternal and neonatal care and assessment; and more.
Nursing the Neonate
ISBN: 9781444314670

Written by a multidisciplinary team of medical and nursing experts, this fully-updated second edition provides evidence-based coverage of all frequently seen neonatal conditions. Designed for real-life practice in the ward, each chapter includes clear guidelines for procedure and discussion of best practice. An essential resource for neonatal nursing and midwifery students, as well as practicing neonatal nurses, this acclaimed text may also be of use to junior doctors beginning neonatology.
Physical Assessment of the Newborn
ISBN: 9780826174437

Physical Assessment of the Newborn addresses the physical, physiologic, neurologic, and behavioral implications of a thorough assessment, and explains how healthcare providers can reduce the risks associated with the transition to extrauterine life and the neonatal period. All health professionals who perform newborn examinations--including nurses, neonatal and pediatric nurse practitioners, nurse-midwives, physicians, therapists, and students preparing for advanced practice roles in neonatal care--can benefit from the essential content presented in this book.

Dewhurst's Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
ISBN: 9781119211426

Comprehensive in scope, Dewhurst's Textbook of Obstetrics & Gynaecology offers contributions from a noted panel of experts and contains an integrated approach that is designed to help deliver the highest possible care to patients. Written for both students and professionals, Dewhurst's Textbook of Obstetrics & Gynaecology is a straightforward, authoritative and practice-based guide to women's reproductive health.
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
ISBN: 9781119010838

Obstetrics and Gynaecology by Impey and Child continues to be an invaluable and authoritative resource for healthcare and medical students. This comprehensive guide provides the perfect level of detail on history and examination, investigations and diagnosis, as well as common diseases, abnormalities, and complications in gynaecology and obstetrics.
Obstetrics and Gynecology at a Glance
ISBN: 9781118341735

This title provides a thorough and dynamically-illustrated overview of the female reproductive organs and care of the female during pregnancy, childbirth and the postnatal period. It is clinically relevant, with a focus on diagnosing, managing and treating disorders and abnormalities and is fully aligned with medical school curricula.Obstetrics and Gynecology at a Glance is the perfect guide for medical students, junior doctors and midwives, and is ideal for those embarking on clinical rotations and the clerkship.
Obstetrics by Ten Teachers
ISBN: 9781498744478

Obstetrics by Ten Teachers is well established as a concise, yet comprehensive, guide within its field. Each chapter is highly structured, with learning objectives, definitions, aetiology, clinical features, investigations, treatments, case histories and key point summaries and additional reading where appropriate. Along with its companion Gynaecology by Ten Teachers the book will continue to provide an accessible 'one stop shop' in obstetrics and gynaecology for a new generation of doctors.
Oxford Handbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
ISBN: 9780198838678

The indispensable, concise, and practical guide to all aspects of obstetric and gynaecological medical care, diagnosis, and management with practical advice presented with key evidence-based guidelines, supported by visual algorithms and top clinical tips. This fourth edition continues to be the must-have resource for all specialist trainees, junior doctors, and students, as well as a valuable aide memoire for experienced clinicians.

Ask Me His Name
ISBN: 9781788700344

In the UK, 1 in 4 pregnancies end in premature death, but conversations about the heartbreakingly frequent issue of baby loss are few and far between. In this honest, beautifully written, and hopeful exploration of a different kind of mothering, Elle explores how she navigated a parenthood that no one had prepared her for.
Becoming Mum
ISBN: 9780992272609

Written to support women, all women, through the psychological passage to motherhood, empowering them to become the kind of mother they wish to be, Becoming Mum is a truly unique self-help book. Dr Koa Whittingham, a clinical and developmental psychologist, parenting researcher and mother, draws on the latest research, her clinical experience and her own experiences as a mother. In each chapter you will find suggestions on how to apply the concepts presented in Becoming Mum to your unique situation, including coping with challenges such as miscarriage, postnatal depression and preterm birth.
I Am Not Your Baby Mother
ISBN: 9781529406276

When Candice fell pregnant and stepped into the motherhood playing field, she found her experience bore little resemblance to the glossy magazine photos of women in horizontal stripe tops. Leafing through the piles of prenatal paraphernalia, she found herself wondering: "Where are all the black mothers?". This thought-provoking, urgent and inspirational guide to life as a black mother explores the various stages in between pregnancy and waving your child off at the gates of primary school, while facing hurdles such as white privilege, racial micro-aggression and unconscious bias at every point.
Inferno : a memoir of motherhood and madness
ISBN: 9781526619044

Catherine Cho's son was three months old when she and her husband left home to introduce him to their families. Catherine herself could never have envisaged how the trip would end for her - surfacing in an involuntary psychiatric ward, separated from her husband and child, unable to understand who she was, or remember how she got there. Catherine turned to her notebook to reconstruct who she was, piece by piece. The result is this powerful exploration of psychosis and motherhood, at once intensely personal, yet holding within it a universal experience - of how we love, live and understand ourselves in relation to each other.
Mother Ship
ISBN: 9781784709464

After her identical twin girls are born ten weeks prematurely, Francesca Segal finds herself sitting vigil in the ‘mother ship’ of neonatal intensive care, all romantic expectations of new parenthood obliterated. Her gripping diary of those months combines the tenderness of a love poem with the compulsive pace of a thriller. As each day brings a fresh challenge for her and her babies, Francesca makes a temporary life among a band of mothers who are vivid, fearless, and inspiring, taking care not only of their children but of one another.

Bailliere's Study Skills for Nurses and Midwives
ISBN: 9780702031427

Whether you are a first time student or returning to study, it can seem very daunting. This book can help you get the most from studying and shows how to make good use of your time and achieve success. Using a down-to-earth and user-friendly style, it concentrates on what you need to know. It can help you to: get the most from reading and lectures, access libraries, use the Internet and databases, develop IT skills, learn through reflection, develop a portfolio, prepare assignments and get the most from placements.
Introduction to Research for Midwives
ISBN: 9780702051654

Struggling to understand the language of research? Need to understand the basic principles and processes of research? Do you find it difficult to know how to apply research to clinical practice? Introduction to Research for Midwives is the answer! In simple language, it explains the world of research both for those who must use it as part of evidence-based practice and those undertaking research. All midwives and other health professionals will find this book invaluable in applying research to their own practice.
Research Methods in Nursing and Midwifery: Pathways to Evidence-Based
ISBN: 9780195528510

Research Methods in Nursing and Midwifery: Pathways to Evidence-based practice introduces nursing and midwifery students to the basic principles of research methods. This user-friendly text is rich with learning support for nursing and midwifery students, including easy-to-read flowcharts, practical examples and tips, practice exercises and additional resources to expand their knowledge of the research process and methodology.
Writing for Nursing and Midwifery Students
ISBN: 9781137531186

Combining a theoretical approach with practical activities, this book is invaluable for nursing and midwifery students and will help them to master the basics of writing at university. It equips students with the skills needed to examine cognitive processes such as reflection and critical thinking and includes essential information on referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism.
Study Skills for Nursing and Midwifery Students
ISBN: 9780335222209

This book is an essential course companion for nursing and midwifery students at degree and diploma level, as well as those returning to study. Lively and accessible, Study Skills for Nursing and Midwifery Students covers key skills and knowledge needed, such as: study strategies, reflective practice, critical thinking, evidence-based research, exam techniques, literature searching and how to succeed in assessments.

Keeping up to Date

We have subscriptions to a variety of midwifery journals in order for your care to be informed by the best quality evidence based practice. We can also help you access articles from other journals we don't have a subscription to.

Check out our midwifery collection via BrowZine, our journal database. If you're struggling to access a journal please do let us know by using our article request service.

Although the articles in these journals are not written specifically for midwifery, relevant journal articles, research studies and guideline updates from obstetrics and gynaecology journals can have an impact on the work and practice of midwifes.

If you would like to do some wider reading for your professional practice, check our our obstetrics and gynaecology journal collection on BrowZine.

KnowledgeShare is our current awareness service, sending you personalised bulletins based on the interests you provide. The topics you provide can be as broad or as specific as you like.

KnowledgeShare gives you access to:

Relevant and specific information: You will receive personalised current evidence bulletins relating to your professional interests.
Networking opportunities: You will have the opportunity to network with other members of KnowledgeShare, helping to form active communities of practice with peers across the country.
Pain-free information access: Once you're set up, you can sit back and relax - the library team will do the rest!

Complete our sign up form to start receiving updates in your inbox, and remember to update your details to stay up to date wherever you find yourself!

BMJ Best Practice
Ranked one of the best clinical decision support tools for health professionals worldwide, BMJ Best Practice provides step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, treatment and prevention. Updated daily using robust evidence-based methodology and expert opinion, BMJ Best Practice provides you with access to the very latest clinical information.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is a key resources for systematic reviews, and also includes a register of controlled clinical trials and other resources.
NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence's (NICE) Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS) are concise, evidence-based summaries designed for care practitioners to quickly ind practical advice and information on over 370 common and significant health conditions. These summaries are a point-of-care tool to help healthcare professionals make informed decisions during patient consultations.
NICE Guidance
NICE guidance consists of evidence-based recommendations for the health and social care systems in England and Wales. Covering a wide range of topics, including clinical care, public health, social care, and the cost-effectiveness of new health technologies, the purpose of these guidelines is to help healthcare professionals and social care workers make decisions to improve the quality of care, prevent illness, and promote good health.

NHS OpenAthens

Sign up for an NHS OpenAthens account and access a range of free, high-quality digital resources from the extensive, NHS-funded collection including eBooks, journals, study aids, databases and more!

Evidence Update

The library produces a quarterly evidence update for midwifery, collecting together recent publications into one document.
Please contact the library at library.uhbw.nhs.uk for more details on evidence updates and how you can stay in the loop.

Podcasts

Stay in the loop with developments and discussions about midwifery. pregnancy and motherhood with some popular midwifery podcasts.

UHBW Library and Information Services: For Midwives

Books

Keeping up to Date

NHS OpenAthens

Evidence Update

Podcasts

Useful Websites

Library Support