LibGuides: UHBW Library and Information Services: For Nurses

Books

UHBW Library and Knowledge Service has a collection of relevant titles for our nurses. Covering a wide range of medical topics, from anatomy to urology, and the various stages of your career, we have something for everyone! Browse the tabs below to see how our collection can help you.

Use the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub to find more books and journal articles. If you can't find what you're looking for complete our article and book request form, and we'll request it from another library for you!

We also welcome recommendations to help keep our collection relevant and up to date. If you would like to recommend a book for our nursing collection, please get in touch with us at Library@uhbw.nhs.uk

How to prepare for interviews and develop your career : as a nurse or midwife
ISBN: 9781908625830

How to Prepare for Interviews and Develop Your Career is packed with practical advice and guidance to help nurses and midwives fulfil their career aspirations. The book is ideal for newly and recently qualified nurses and midwives and will also be suitable for students making the transition to NQN. This accessible and practical book addresses the questions and concerns frequently raised by students and healthcare professionals - and to help you develop your career as a nurse or midwife.
How to Thrive As a Newly Qualified Nurse
ISBN: 9781908625519

How to Thrive as a Newly Qualified Nurse provides a structured programme of support for nursing students and newly qualified nurses during their first year qualified. Packed with practical examples, tips and advice, and featuring vignettes from recently qualified nurses, this book will help you to: choose your first nursing post and secure the job you really want, structure your learning and development in the early stages of your career, work in a team, understand safe staffing, and learn how to escalate concerns and report incidents.
Understanding Ethics for Nursing Students
ISBN: 9781529666618

Ethics have an significant impact on the decisions nurses make in their day-to-day work, so it's important for all student nurses to develop their understanding of ethical frameworks as preparation for future practice. This book explains ethical ideas, theories and concepts in simple to understand terms, focusing on real-life nursing situations in order to make applying these principles to practice easy. This book will make student nurses consider their own values, and how ethics fit into who they are and how they behave, helping them to unlock this interesting and complex subject.
Understanding Research for Nursing Students
ISBN: 9781529779684

Get to grips with all aspects of research that you need to succeed in your nursing degree. Learn why research is so important to nursing, develop your knowledge of key methods and terminology and build your confidence in applying research principles to your nursing practice. Filled with activities and case studies, this book will help you apply research principles and methods to your studies and practice.
Writing for Nursing and Midwifery Students
ISBN: 9781137531186

Combining a theoretical approach with practical activities, this book is invaluable for nursing and midwifery students and will help them to master the basics of writing at university. It equips students with the skills needed to examine cognitive processes such as reflection and critical thinking and includes essential information on referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism.

The Essentials of Nursing Leadership by Ruth Taylor & Brian Webster-Henderson (Editors)
ISBN: 9781412962018

This new approach to leadership focuses on how students can develop leadership skills right from the start of their nursing programme through to transitioning to their first role. The book first takes students through the underpinning knowledge and theory and then through practical skills to help them understand all aspects of leadership and how it is a key component of providing quality care to patients in a range of environments and settings.
Leadership, Management and Team Working in Nursing
ISBN: 9781473997912

With all nurses expected to demonstrate leadership, management and team working skills it is vital that students engage with this aspect of their training as early as possible. As well as covering all of the core theory and knowledge, the authors encourage the reader to explore their own values and experiences when it comes to leadership that will help to develop emotional intelligence and a solid understanding of what good leadership and management practice looks like and why it matters to them.
Leadership: for nursing, health and social care students
ISBN: 9781908625472

An accessible introductory textbook for nursing, health and social care students seeking to develop their leadership skills. Offering practical advice underpinned by theoretical perspectives, this book will help you to understand the principles of effective leadership and apply them to your own practice.

Essential Knowledge and Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners
ISBN: 9781351605083

Essential Knowledge and Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners is a practical and comprehensive text designed to equip you with the necessary clinical skills for your profession. This is an indispensable guide for all those training as healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, and an introductory textbook for students embarking on nursing and health and social care programmes.
The Handbook for Nursing Associates and Assistant Practitioners
ISBN: 9781529789812

The essential handbook for nursing associate students and anyone undertaking a foundation degree or higher-level apprenticeship in healthcare practice. This bestselling book will see you through all aspects of your programme, from the skills and knowledge you need to get started to more advanced topics. Covering all of the topics you will study in clear, straightforward language, it builds your confidence and competence as an effective healthcare professional.
The Nursing Associate's Handbook of Clinical Skills
ISBN: 9781119642305

The Nursing Associate's Handbook of Clinical Skills provides evidence-based guidance for those undertaking the newly developed Nursing Associate role that bridges the gap between the Health Care Assistant and the Registered Nurse. Structured around the latest Nursing and Midwifery Council Proficiencies, this invaluable handbook helps the prospective Nursing Associates develop the skills and core competencies required to succeed in a broad range of healthcare contexts.

Clinical Judgement and Decision Making in Nursing
ISBN: 9781529791266

Clinical judgement and decision making are terms that are frequently used in nursing. But what do they mean and how can they be effectively applied in practice? In straightforward language, this book helps you to develop the necessary skills to make and apply sound clinical decisions. It breaks down the factors involved in decision making and shows you how to use evidence, critical enquiry and reflection to do so with confidence.
Fundamentals of Assessment and Care Planning for Nurses
ISBN: 9781119491750

Fundamentals of Assessment and Care Planning for Nurses helps readers become proficient in assessing patient needs, and planning, providing and evaluating care. This timely publication adopts a practical approach with NMC proficiencies at its core, providing guidance and insight into the application of key skills and demonstrating competency in real-life settings.
An important resource for pre-registration nursing students, Nursing Associates, and other registered practitioners seeking to update their knowledge.
Patient Assessment and Care Planning in Nursing
ISBN: 9781529610000

This bestselling textbook builds your skills for accurate, person-centred assessment and care planning. Working step-by-step through the process, it equips you with practical assessment tools and models for care planning. Its holistic approach helps you to think in the round about an individual's physical health, mental health and other needs, as well as the broader social and environmental factors that influence their lives and care.
The Unofficial Guide to Practical Skills
ISBN: 0323937195

Designed for medical students, nurses, junior doctors and other healthcare professionals, The Unofficial Guide to Practical Skills contains step-by-step guidance to over 50 core practical procedures. Information is easy to follow and procedures are explained clearly - along with expert practical tips. Covering essential skills you'll need throughout your career, this book provides a succinct, day-to-day reference for a wide range of procedures.

Drug calculations for nurses : a step-by-step approach
ISBN: 9780367522322

Drug Calculations for Nurses teaches healthcare professionals how to perform drug calculations with confidence and competence. It provides step-by-step guidance to carry out accurate drug calculations, with units and drug strengths clearly explained. Designed for students and practitioners in nursing, midwifery and allied health, this textbook enables readers to improve their numeracy skills for clinical practice and develop their understanding of the broader context for these calculations.
Essentials of pharmacology for nurses
ISBN: 9780335248445

This ideal starter text makes pharmacology less intimidating by focusing on the knowledge needed at pre-registration level in order to safely and competently practice as a newly qualified nurse. With a helpful layout and jargon-free language, this updated edition introduces pharmacology in a friendly, informative way, without assuming previous knowledge or a level of confidence in numeracy.
Introducing Pharmacology
ISBN: 9781032598451

Introducing Pharmacology provides an accessible and engaging introduction to the subject of pharmacology for nursing and healthcare students - in fact any healthcare professional needing to refresh their knowledge of this important area. This textbook is an essential companion for nursing, midwifery students and other healthcare professions, as well as those on post-registration courses, studying to become independent prescribers.
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology in Nursing
ISBN: 9781529768497

Written in clear language and specifically for the nursing context, this bestselling book is your ultimate guide to pathophysiology and pharmacology. Through a uniquely integrated approach, the book develops your knowledge of both the pathology of common conditions and their pharmacological treatment. This holistic approach builds your knowledge of the key concepts and processes, with real world examples illustrating their application to nursing practice.
Pharmacology made incredibly easy!
ISBN: 9781975177584

Ready to master the medication process? Tap into the go-to resource for nursing pharmacology basics with Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy! Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses.

Critical Thinking and Writing in Nursing
ISBN: 9781529666595

Critical thinking and writing is central to effective nursing practice. Written specifically for nursing students, this book offers practical guidance on what it means to think critically as a nurse and how to apply this to study and practice. From critically reviewing literature for assessments to evaluating evidence to support decision-making in practice, the book provides a unique framework for developing essential critical skills.
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care
ISBN: 9781526497512

A clear and practical guide to completing a literature review in nursing and healthcare. Providing you with straightforward guidance on how to successfully carry out a literature review as part of your research project or dissertation, this book uses examples and activities to demonstrate how to complete each step correctly, from start to finish, and highlights how to avoid common mistakes. Perfect for any nursing or healthcare student new to literature reviews or for anyone who needs a refresher on this important topic.
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care
ISBN: 9781526420817

What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health and social care? This easy to read guide provides a concise overview of the different research methods and terminology, helping students to understand how research is implemented in practice. This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students of nursing and health in the UK and internationally.
Succeeding in Literature Reviews & Research Project Plans for Nursing Students
ISBN: 9781529779813

This practical and straightforward book covers everything you need to know when conducting a literature or research project plan. A clear and straightforward guide to support you throughout your final year assessment, this book takes you step-by-step through the process, from choosing a topic and research question, using and critiquing research, all the way to writing up and completing your project.
Nursing research : generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice
ISBN: 9781975110659

This authoritative, approachable textbook shows how nursing research is applicable across today’s changing healthcare field. Designed to help students ensure the accuracy and effectiveness of research methods, this book will help you to locate and rank clinical evidence, verify the authoritativeness of systematic reviews, and distinguish interpretive approaches from aggregative approaches using meta-aggregation.

Keeping up to Date

We have subscriptions to a variety of nursing journals in order for your care to be informed by the best quality evidence based practice. We can also help you access articles from other journals we don't have a subscription to.

From critical care to surgery, check out our varied nursing collection via BrowZine, our journal database. If you're struggling to access a journal please do let us know by using our article request service.

For senior nurses, we have access to various publications focused on nursing administration, leadership and education. Check out our nursing collection via BrowZine, our journal database. If you're struggling to access a journal please do let us know by using our article request service.

We also have access to HSJ, the Health Service Journal aimed at senior management, decision-makers and policy makers in the UK healthcare industry. If you would like a HSJ log in, please contact us at library@uhbw.nhs.uk.

UHBW Knowledge and Library Service produce regular evidence updates on a monthly, bi-monthly, and quarterly basis covering a broad array of topics, such as Paediatric Intensive Care and Dementia. They are a great resource for keeping up to date in areas that are of interest to you and can help inform activities such as journal clubs. View our Evidence Update page to see what departments we support and to get added to our distribution lists.

KnowledgeShare is our current awareness service, sending you personalised bulletins based on the interests you provide. The topics you provide can be as broad or as specific as you like.

KnowledgeShare gives you access to:

Relevant and specific information: You will receive personalised current evidence bulletins relating to your professional interests.
Networking opportunities: You will have the opportunity to network with other members of KnowledgeShare, helping to form active communities of practice with peers across the country.
Pain-free information access: Once you're set up, you can sit back and relax - the library team will do the rest!

Complete our sign up form to start receiving updates in your inbox, and remember to update your details to stay up to date wherever you find yourself!

BMJ Best Practice
Ranked one of the best clinical decision support tools for health professionals worldwide, BMJ Best Practice provides step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, treatment and prevention. Updated daily using robust evidence-based methodology and expert opinion, BMJ Best Practice provides you with access to the very latest clinical information.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is a key resources for systematic reviews, and also includes a register of controlled clinical trials and other resources.
NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence's (NICE) Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS) are concise, evidence-based summaries designed for care practitioners to quickly ind practical advice and information on over 370 common and significant health conditions. These summaries are a point-of-care tool to help healthcare professionals make informed decisions during patient consultations.
NICE Guidance
NICE guidance consists of evidence-based recommendations for the health and social care systems in England and Wales. Covering a wide range of topics, including clinical care, public health, social care, and the cost-effectiveness of new health technologies, the purpose of these guidelines is to help healthcare professionals and social care workers make decisions to improve the quality of care, prevent illness, and promote good health.

NHS OpenAthens

Sign up for an NHS OpenAthens account and access a range of free, high-quality digital resources from the extensive, NHS-funded collection including eBooks, journals, study aids, databases and more!

Royal Marsden Manual

The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures has been the definitive, market-leading guide to clinical nursing skills for over three decades. Written by nurses for nurses, this indispensable guide sets the gold standard for nursing care, providing the procedures, rationale, and guidance required by qualified nurses to deliver clinically effective, patient-focused care with expertise and confidence.

Podcasts

Stay in the loop with developments and discussions about nursing with some popular podcasts.

UHBW Library and Information Services: For Nurses

Books

Keeping up to Date

NHS OpenAthens

Royal Marsden Manual

Podcasts

Useful Websites

Library Support