Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UHBW Library and Information Services: Books, Articles and Evidence

Library website for UHBW

Search the evidence

Searching: Health and Care Evidence, from Health Education England

How to access electronic resources

To access our electronic resources you will need an OpenAthens loginOpen Athens logo.

Click here to register. You will need to use an NHS email address. 
Click here to reset password. Email library@uhbw.nhs.uk with your name and email address if you have forgotten your username.

Click on the links to access the Native Interfaces :

How to Find Evidence

How can I log in to my library account, and is this different to Open Athens?

Your library account is separate to your Open Athens account. Your library account allows you to update your details, check what you currently have on-loan and renew checked out items. You can access it by going to SWIMS (see below) and logging in at the top left of the page. You can also reset your library password from here.

How can I access the library catalogue?

You can access our library catalogue through the search bar at the top of the page. If you prefer, you can also browse the library catalogue via SWIMS: the catalogue for health libraries in the South and West of England. You can access SWIMS here.

SWIMS logo

How do I request books and resources not in the library catalogue?

You can request items directly from the Knowledge and Library hub search. Search for what you would like, then select "request this item".

I need help for something that isn't covered here

Please use the "ask a librarian" chat feature on the homepage of the library site for assistance, or email us at library@uhbw.nhs.uk.

Hub Tutorial

Point of Care support

BMJ Best Practice Logo

BMJ Best Practice
This is a point of care tool that combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion. Find out more here.

Find Elsevier Resources

Clinical Key logo

ClinicalKey 
Find latest evidence from Elsevier in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, tailored patient education handouts, clinical calculators and more. Find out more here.

Browse our Journal Collection

Browzine logo and banner image with text reading "explore top scholarly journals"

Browzine
Browse our current journal collection through your web browser with Browzine. Click here to access. 

Browse our Databases

We provide direct access to a variety of medical databases though our three core native interfaces:

EBSCO
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Medline and Psychology full text and eBook

OVID Technologies
AMED (Allied and Complimentary Medicine), Embase, Ovid Emcare, HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium) and Ovid Medline

Proquest
APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, British Nursing Index‎, Ebook central, Health Research Premium Collection, Medline and PTSDpubs

If you require training on how to search using databases, please contact the library at library@uhbw.nhs.uk.

Other Resources

LibKey Suite
LibKey is a suite of products, including LibKey Discovery, LibKey Link, LibKey Nomad and libkey.io that can help you to find and access research articles more efficiently. For more information, check our our helpguide here.

NICE (national institute for heath and care excellence) Logo

NICE Guidance

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) independent guidance, pathways, standards and support. Access NICE here.

See the source image

Trip Medical Database

A smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence and clinical guidelines.

Cochrane Library logo

The Cochrane Library
A database of the Cochrane Library's thorough, authoritative, independent systematic reviews. Find more information here.

logo

Royal Marsden Manual (rmmonline.co.uk)

The Manual includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

Clinical Knowledge Summaries logo

Clinical Knowledge Summaries
Practical guidance on best practice for over 330 common and/or significant primary care presentations. Find more information here.

British National Formulary logo

British National Formulary (BNF) & BNF for Children
A comprehensive compilation of authoritative, independent guidance and information about drugs. Find more information here.

Oxford Handbooks
Oxford Handbooks offer authoritative and up-to-date  original research in particular subject areas. UHBW staff and students have access to over 130 Oxford University Press medical and healthcare books online. Find more information here.

Kortext

Kortext
eBooks on equality and diversity, 
funded by Health Education England and selected in consultation with library staff across the country. Find more information here.
(Note, in some browsers you may need to select "keep file" after downloading the list of books available through Kortext.)

SPSS
UHBW Library members can now access the professional statistical analysis program, SPSS, from a dedicated computer terminal at the Bristol library site. Please contact us to book this PC for use at library@uhbw.nhs.uk.
For help getting started with SPSS, please click here.

 

Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry
The Maudsley Guidelines is a world-renowned reference on the safe use of medications for patients presenting with mental health problems.